top of page

Learning Reflections 2: Games & Learning


How did your participation in course activities this month contribute to your understanding of games (generally) and the relationship between games and learning?

After playing games (for the first time since I was a teenager), I’ve learned that gamification or even game-based learning requires more than just instant feedback and rewards. In my experience with games I believe the best motivation, which has not yet been mentioned in our readings, is the fear of failure (often death in a game). I quickly learn the rules of the games, methods, techniques, or will experiment so I don’t “lose”, weather that is a losing a turn, losing a life, losing the level, etc.

It demonstrates the relationship between games and learning can be increased at an accerlated rate, when the chance of “failure” is accelerated. I think as an instructional designer that wishes to use game-based learning I will include not only an element of probability, but also the possibility to lose.

What preconceptions about games, play, and learning have you changed because of your course activities so far?

In our readings on the experience of games compared to experience of school. Other factors, not mentioned in the readings, which make the difference is that in games when one “fails” they are allowed or even required to re-do that level. However in schools if you do not pass the homework assignment, paper, or project the first time you are not allowed to re-do the subject, and the course proceeds with new information, weather you mastered the first subject or not. Since I am not a teacher, and can not change this practice, then I will make sure when designing my course or game in a course, the learner has a chance to re-do a section they have failed, until mastery has been achieved.

Another thing I learned about games from experience is that games use a lot of “action words” such as: fight, jump, take, leap, crawl, bomb. These words are often oral in nature in an highly complex video game, but this simple use of “situated language” can be used when designing instructional design games, by including these actions words in the prompts or descriptions.

How have you relied upon networks - with peers, via social media - to advance your learning in our course?​

My preconceptions around games, play, and learning have largely been influenced by my own experience. I think that’s because I am a tactile learner, and learn by exploring hands-on activities. Starting as a “gamer” and then reading “Gameful Learning as a Way of Being” (2014) has shaped my understanding of games and learning. I think the authors are correct in identifying their three elements of gameful learning: attitude, identity, and ignorance. The author mentions that attitude is created when the “players make meaning by accepting rules”. By understanding and accepting these constraints or rules of a game, in it self makes a game. This concept is especially clear when playing board games or card games, because you have no idea how to interact with the game unless you know the rules. Additionally to learn new rules or constraints, in my experience and according to a few of my peers, requires a highly level of thinking. The next element is identity. According to the authors, “learning thrives when environments encourage experimentation with multiple identities.” In my experience, you don’t need to have multiple identities to learn, but I have noticed this to be an increase trend in games is to have either multiple identities or identities you can customize.

Ask yourself a question about games, play, and learning - and provide a meaningful answer.​

My question about games, play, and learning are: Is game-based learning only for a particular audience?

Essentially, does games in learning have a limited audience, probably those already interested in games, or can it be used for a wider audience, those who don't gravitate towards games. I personally don't need a game to learn and I discovered that my peers have the same experience. Being forced to play games, doesn't necessarily make us enjoy them more. We tend to prefer the traditionalist method of information: reading, writing, listening, or passively watching.

My answer is: No games are not for everyone. I think we alienate a larger audience if we base all our information in game-like fashion. This doesn't mean we shouldn't use games, but I think we should use games in intelligent and intuitive ways, that require intelligent and intuitive applications. For instance if I needed to learn surgery, then a game-like simulation probably would be appealing to me. In other words we should design games that require you to think big and are complex in nature. Then game-based learning will add appeal to a larger audience.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page